If you have an idea put it into action now.

Tiago Morgado
2 min readMay 16, 2017

--

Have you ever had that feeling that an idea you had might be the next big thing? Or at least a big thing! The thing that might change your life or the life of someone. If so, put it now to work!

A few years ago, I and a friend of mine noticed an opportunity for a service that would be useful, we could even make a profit with that project.
We started working on it but unfortunately, fate drove us to different paths and that idea remained cold til last year. I’ve decided to go back to school and for one of the projects I decided to bring back that old idea.

So I started my research and found that there are a lot of companies doing the exact same thing that I and my friend have thought almost seven years ago. The services that exist now are more refined than our original idea, but the core concept still the same.

I know that we have all heard stories of someone who had passed the same experience. But only when it happens to you, you realize that an excellent opportunity might have slipped off your hands and now you can’t do anything about it.

A friend of mine introduced me to this great article by Derek Sivers about the value of ideas. In the article, Derek explains that you should multiply the value of an idea with its execution. The result is that a bad idea with an excellent execution worths a lot more than the best idea in the world with no execution at all. Read the article here, can’t be more simple to understand.

To me, ideas are worth nothing unless executed. They are just a multiplier. Execution is worth millions. — Derek Sivers

So if you have an idea, put it now into work. Test it fast if it works, evolve it into a more refined product later. If not, grab the next idea and repeat the process til you find one that works.

--

--